Part of our Spotlight on Nevada series

The Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) consists of seven teaching institutions and one research institution. Within the state, there are four public community colleges, one state college and two universities. The Las Vegas/Henderson area is home to the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), Nevada State College, and the College of Southern Nevada (CSN). The Reno/Carson City area is home to the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR), Truckee Meadows Community College, and Western Nevada College. Our rural institution is Great Basin College which located in Elko with several satellite locations in many other rural areas throughout the state.

The programs offered at our institutions are plentiful and varied. Depending on the institution, students can complete advanced degrees, bachelor’s and associate degrees, as well as certificates and apprenticeships. Nevada is home to two medical schools (UNLV and UNR), as well as a dental school, a law school and a doctoral program in Physical Therapy (DPT–at UNLV only). We also have a strong relationship with local businesses for workforce development through our career and technical education programs. Our institutions offer many courses including some full degree programs online providing flexibility for students with family or work responsibilities.

Nevada is a diverse system whose strategic goals include student access and success. No matter what a student’s education and career goals may be, they can find their best fit and match in Nevada.

For more information on programs, please see the institutional catalogs:

University of Nevada, Las Vegas:
University of Nevada, Reno:
Nevada State College:
College of Southern Nevada:
Great Basin College:
Truckee Meadows Community College:
Western Nevada College: